Recipe: Cranberry Chia Bliss Balls

31 Aug

IMG_20130831_155705

I have to admit, I have a weakness for snacking when I’m bored. During down-time at work I find it all to easy to turn to that half block of chocolate hiding in the cupboard, or that bag of potato chips being shared around. I’ve found that the more health-conscious I’ve become, the less I enjoy those processed foods high in sugar, salt, and goodness knows what else.

I decided to trial making my own bliss balls that I could have on hand for snacking or before exercise. I came up with this recipe based on what is in my cupboard, and might have been a little heavy handed with the flaxseed meal. But I think they turned out OK! They aren’t overly sweet, and even with the small amount of cocoa powder they aren’t particularly “chocolatey”. I can’t wait to try my hand at another batch using different flavours, and would consider adding some protein powder in future to make an after-exercise treat.

This recipe made 8 bliss balls, and is very low in sodium, high in dietary fibre, contains no cholesterol, and is also high in manganese and magnesium. While I’m not well versed in raw and clean eating, I believe you wouldn’t have to make too many changes to these to satisfy the requirements for either – substitute cacao powder and a vanilla bean instead of the cocoa powder and vanilla essence. Feel free to correct me if I’m wrong in that assumption!

CRANBERRY CHIA BLISS BALLS:

cranberry chia balls nutritional info4 dried dates, soaked for at least 30 minutes in enough water just to cover (about 2 tbsp)
1/2 cup almond meal
1/4 cup flaxseed meal
1 tbsp cocoa powder
Vanilla essence (or scrape a vanilla bean), to taste
Ground cinnamon, to taste
3 tbsp dried cranberries
Chia seeds, for covering

Process the soaked dates and remaining water in a food processor. Add the almond meal and flaxseed meal, processing until a sticky dough forms.

Add the cocoa powder, vanilla essence and cinnamon and mix until combined (can knead, use an electric mixer, or food processor). Knead or mix through the dried cranberries.

Shape into 8 balls, and roll in the chia seeds to cover.

Nutritional information from Calorie Count.

Leave a Reply

